This site is no longer being updated. Please visit our new site at:
Immunization (Vaccination) Requirements for the State of California
California State law requires that all students under age 18 years, preschool through grade 12 be immunized against certain diseases unless they are exempt for temporary or permanent medical reasons. At the time of registration current immunization records must be presented to verify that immunization status is up to date or student has a medical exemption.
Students 4 – 6 years old (Transitional-Kindergarten/Kindergarten and above)
- 4 doses Polio (3 doses meet the requirement if at least one was given on or after the 4th birthday)
- 5 doses DTaP (4 doses meet the requirement if at least one was given on or after the 4th birthday)
- 2 doses MMR (Both given on or after the 1st birthday)
- 3 doses Hepatitis B
- 1 dose Varicella
- 4 doses Polio (3 doses meet the requirement if one was given on or after the 2nd birthday)
- 4 doses of DTaP, DTP, DT, Tdap or Td (3 doses meet the requirement if the last dose was given on or after 2nd birthday. At least one dose must be Tdap or DTaP/DTP given on or after 7th birthday for all 7th – 12 graders).
- 1 dose MMR (Dose given on or after 1st birthday)
- Varicella: 1 dose for ages 7-12, 2 doses for students starting with vaccinations ages 13 – 17).
- 1 dose of Tdap (Or DTP/DTaP given on or after the 7th grade)
- 2 doses of MMR or any measles-containing vaccine (Both doses given on or after 1st birthday)
Students with physician ordered medical exemptions must present those at registration. A valid medical exemption must be a written statement from a licensed physician, documenting the child’s physical condition or medical circumstances are such that the immunization(s) is not appropriate. The written statement must specify vaccines being exempted and whether the medical exemption is permanent or temporary (with an expiration date if the exemption is temporary).